How To Write Characters from the Opposite Gender

I’ve only tried to write from a male perspective once. Not too sure how I did. I’ll share the story from WattPad later today. It is hard to say the least. Have any of you had any success with writing from the perspective of the opposite gender?

Rachel Poli

I’m sure I don’t need to tell you that boys and girls are different. We’re different physically, mentally, and emotionally.

I’m a girl and have no idea what goes through the mind of a boy. Boys have no idea what girls go through. We pretend we understand the opposite gender, but we really have no clue.

With that being said, it’s much easier to write in the female point of view if you’re a female yourself.

how-to-write-characters-from-the-opposite-gender

When I first started writing my mystery series,George Florence, the main protagonist was George himself. It was all in first-person, but some things just weren’t clicking with the rest of the story.

I eventually changed the point of view to third-person with George still in charge, but even that didn’t work out. With the help of my writer’s group, I came to the conclusion that even though George calls the shots for…

View original post 663 more words

Author: Jennifer and MJ Weiner

We're an author, wife, daughter, sister, aunt, gamer, customer service rep, procrastinator, reader, tv and movie watcher, geek, and fur-mommy.

Share Your Thoughts With Us :)

