Why I’m Struggling to Write Fiction (and my current plan to fix it.

Jennifer and MJ Weiner let down their hair while speaking about why it is so hard for her to write fiction.

img_20151031_110740222So I’m Jennifer Weiner. I’m an Author. I have two nonfiction books published. Self published. But still…it’s something. I have the desire to write fiction. My alter ego is in charge of that. Her name is MJ. Same last name. Less confusing like that.

I should have had some fiction out a long time ago. I can tell a story fairly well. I used to have lots of time to practice. I was unemployed. But I procrastinated. I always thought I’d do it later. Or tomorrow. Well the old saw about tomorrow never getting here is true. It almost hasn’t.

I did join a contest a long while back. I put money it. I got published on a website. Then I got my feedback from the judges. It wasn’t all roses and rainbows. It really hurt. I quit writing for awhile. I still pay for the site that hosted the contest, but the feedback kind of reinforced my biggest issue. It wasn’t meant to. They weren’t really being those bullies from my school years. They just wanted to be helpful.

The truth is… I’ve never felt like I am good enough. At anything. I’m smarter than many, yet I didn’t go to college until my 20’s. I have 4 associate’s of science degrees, yet I work in a call center as an agent on the phone.

I’ve been pretty much anyone and everyone’s punching bag in life. But that stops now. I will write fiction. I will write more nonfiction. But most of all I will learn that I am good enough and, in many things, I will only get better!

I’m part of two challenges this month. One is a write 500 words every day challenge hosted by author Jeff Goins. It’s just what it sounds like. I didn’t think I was going to do this today. But I decided a third blog was in order. Here I will write whatever the fuck I want. This is my very personal blog. The other two are “business”. Feel free to follow them. I’m sure I’ll eventually work more on the look and feel of this and share it with more people.

The second is to make one BIG change this year. Well that big change is to learn just this… that I AM GOOD ENOUGH. I am perfect in my imperfections. My lack of knowledge or ability is just room to grow. I don’t have to be perfect, just perfectly me. My adorably, wonderfully, imperfectly perfect for me husband loves me just as I am! It’s time for me to do the same!

And that’s what this blog will be about. Me just being me. Random crap, every day.Or mostly every day. Some days I might use my words for fiction or even nonfiction for more commercial consumption. Maybe even for newsletters for my “business” Lists. Follow me if ya want. Let me know what you think in the comments. Join me in my quest to not only love my self as I am (I actually succeed in this most days) but to realize that me is just fine and absolutely no one else’s opinion matters! Thx for reading!

❤ Jenn and MJ

Author: Jennifer and MJ Weiner

We're an author, wife, daughter, sister, aunt, gamer, customer service rep, procrastinator, reader, tv and movie watcher, geek, and fur-mommy.

Share Your Thoughts With Us :)

